Post Format

Two Sisters | Picking Daisies | News

1 comment

The purpose of this entry is to thank and pay tribute to two lovely ladies, Kay and Dede. The two sisters are apart of a San Luis Obispo shop called Picking Daisies. Kay & Dede deserve the outmost respect, not only do they kick ass at what they do, which is creating wonderful napkins for the world but as individuals. You have no idea how stoked I was when you asked me to be shown. I owe you so much for letting me create chaos on your walls and helping me network as well as gain friendships. I had a blast the three receptions during Art After Dark and I promise I will always enjoy coming in for the occasional hi and catch up on life talks. You two truly have made my life brighter. First it was the awesome fabric and napkins, but now it has turned into a friendship that will last. All your support, I can’t say enough thank yous!

For anyone that has never been into Picking Daisies or had a chance to encounter these two sisters, I demand you to! If you need some napkins, Picking Daisies has it all. You can even rent for birthdays, events, and weddings. They are online or in downtown San Luis Obispo. Here is their site.

PICKING DAISIES ONLINE

Picking Daisies took root in June 2008 after sisters Ann, Kay and Dede decided to bring Ann’s home-made 100% cotton cloth napkins from the family dinner table to the market place.Born from the common scenario of a shopper not able to find what she wants, Ann sewed napkins for her family for years. Friends and family commented on the vibrancy and variety of designs and took notice of the fun in mixing and matching patterns and colors with every table setting. The sisters joined together to bring their complementary talents to this enterprise first at craft fairs and farmer’s markets and eventually with the opening of their retail location. These beautiful napkins for everyday use are available on their website and at their downtown San Luis Obispo, California store. There are more than 50 designs in multiple colors available, with new patters and colors added frequently.”

Anyway… earlier this year the two sisters asked me if I could hang up my photography on their walls during the summer months. Immediately out of excitement, I agreed and thoughts rushed into my head. What would I put up? Should there be a theme? How should I print, and mount! and hang? So many questions started ricocheting in my mind. I had a few months to prepare or in all honesty, not do much as far as getting ready for the big day. Being nervous about having my first solo exhibit, I procrastinated and tried coming up with some impossible ideas with low budget but nothing hit the right spot. I wanted to show the people of San Luis Obispo a different form of photography, not just pretty landscapes that flock our county…what to do…

With the help of a few friends and my new girlfriend at the time, I decided to show what I love the most: the simple, the history, the abandoned, the found, the lucky, the stories, the derelict. When I first got into the art of photography, I started finding random things around my sister’s yard in the country of Paso Robles. Old and rustic objects, abandoned barns, etc got me thinking about the county and all it has to offer. San Luis Obispo and it’s surrounding towns (the county) are much more than pretty blue skies, wildlife, ocean waves and scenic countrysides. If you look deeper and explore you find stories of what people leave behind almost everyday. What better way to show people what they miss, then to display what I have found throughout the years of living on the Central Coast. All the hopped fences, bug bites, dark twists, walking on the railroad, encountering the homeless, and getting yelled at by property owners finally paid off ;).

All the photographs I displayed during “DERELICTION” express my love for the past, and what people often pass by and/or forget. When I see a rundown house, all I want to do is find out a way in and capture it’s presence. I love finding what families, bums, and individuals leave behind. Every simple object can tell a story, a house or building can even tell a lifetime. I hope those who attended my receptions and stopped in Picking Daisies enjoyed not only seeing my photographs but what they depicted. I hope people wondered where the place was, where I found that bike wheel or horse sculpture, and so forth. When you leave the shop and finish viewing my photographs I truly hope you begin (if you haven’t) to appreciate the small things in life, and take a look around and not only admire the sunsets and blue oceans but to look around your neighborhood and take in history and the forgotten and make it come alive again.

I would like to take this time, to personally extend my deepest wishes and my heart to Picking Daisies and letting me take over their walls from July to September 1st. It has been an honor and a bonding experience between you ladies. From the moment it started and the question was asked “would you be interested in being displayed?” everything fell into place and it was beautiful. Henry, thanks for sitting on the beds of The Padre Hotel figuring out what photos would be worthy of displaying and helping me figure out prices. Ashley, thank you for being wonderful and mine! All your support through thick and thin has really kept my head up. Jed, thank you for helping me with the wood mounting and finding the fishing sinkers to hang the wire (what a great idea and I will continue to use them forever). Thanks Birch Fabric for carrying the wonderful fabric for my camera napkins and coasters. Joe (Shannon), thanks for helping me hang my artwork and support me the roughest day which was the first reception. Patrick, even though we couldn’t show the installation originally planned it was awesome to have some of my favorites playing on the wall. Dan (Stenzskull), for your collab piece which gained so much attention and questions about how the detail was accomplished and how you made my photograph a painting was amazing. Jeff and Neal for pulling through with two great collab pieces on my photographs as well. To Renalto (which many of you may not know the story of him), your art has always inspired me and it was great to figure out something to do together. To Tyler & Kate, for letting me borrow a few bottles of wine (NELLE) at the first reception! Everyone loved the taste! To Tom, for letting me use the black fabric for my “framed” shoots and being my best friend! To Amy, the cupcakes were as always delicious and thank you so much for making the red velvet. To Anastasia, thank you for being the first person to enter the doors of my gallery and being so stoked and helpful! And to Brooke, both of you got the guestbook and thought of the idea! To the Bruingtons and Porczaks for always coming and your company will not be forgotten.

And lastly, THANK YOU TO ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY FOR SUPPORTING ME. IT MEANS THE WORLD TO ME THAT YOU GUYS TOOK THE TIME TO ENTER THOSE DOORS AND LOOK AT MY PHOTOGRAPHS. TO THE ART AFTER DARK PEOPLE, THANK YOU FOR THE CRITICISM AND CURIOSITY. AND TO ANYONE I DIDN’T GET A CHANCE TO SAY HI TO OR TALK TO, THANK YOU FOR ENTERING MY EYES FOR A BRIEF MOMENT.

Sites to check out:

Picking Daisies

Amy Bakes Cupcakes

Henry’s Flickr

Patrick’s Vimeo

Ashley’s Blog

Stenzskull

Jeff Claassen

Neal Breton (San Luis Obispo Art Supply)

Nelle Wines

Scissor Clothing

Rage Art

Tom Fowler Photography

Birch Fabric

Heaven Jewelry

Posted by

I'm definitely human, not a robot. I am not controlled by the population. I'm from Los Angeles but didn't like it there. I'm now on the Central Coast, my residency shall be unknown. I'm a photographer but you think you're better. I sneak into places with my camera. I make stencils but not for you ... maybe. I shoot what my eyes see. I make friends with aliens. If you are in front of me, you are going to be shot. If you are torn down or abandoned, I will find you. I will try not to break your heart.

1 Comment so far Join the Conversation

  1. I love those two! I think their shop made a great layout for your reception. 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you do next.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

