Post Format

Brides 2011 Article | News

Leave a Reply

after seeing steve miller’s (main new times photographer) status update wondering where all the local wedding photographers are at, i definitely hesitated for a few days. my girlfriend put me straight and i submitted amongst the other photographers; after about a month i got a small e-mail explaining to me that i was/will be one of three featured photographers in the upcoming brides 2011 in february. i’ve been waiting for the digital copy to come out so i can blog the pages, and here they are below! thanks to: chris and sarah, joe and shiloh & john and libby for helping me get the photographs published and letting me present them!

page uno

number two

seeing that i fail on sizing i will help you out a little bit, and share the text:

Richard Fusillo is originally from Los Angeles, where he became addicted to taking photographs for his high school yearbook staff. He wrote “Inspiration grew after graduating and relocating to the Central Coast of California.” After a couple of years living in almost every city in the county, Richard put his own twist onto his art and came up with a style that he says tells stories. His photographs concentrate on the simplicity in life and our surroundings. A rotted out, old, abandoned building is just as beautiful to him as a landscape capture of the Grand Canyon.

Most of his images are heavily influenced by what he considers real hidden treasures. Over the years, he created a style that combines grit and beauty, and now it transcends into his wedding images. Focusing on small details, obscure angles, and more of a modern-day approach to portraiture, he captures emotion and story perfectly. Exploring the regions of California, expanding his curiosity one shutter click at a time, he shares the unknown and narrarates through vision.

In his gallery-based images, he goes from dodging the homeless to navigating over barbed wire, such as in his “Dereliction” series, and when he’s shooting a wedding, he aims to please by showing couples their true passion of not only themselves but their surroundings.

Richard Fusillo shoots constantly, improving his eyes and skill with a camera; his jobs include but aren’t limited to, weddings, portraiture, fine art, band work (live and promotional) and fashion.

FOLLOW THIS LINK TO SEE AND READ THE DIGITAL COPY

Posted by

I'm definitely human, not a robot. I am not controlled by the population. I'm from Los Angeles but didn't like it there. I'm now on the Central Coast, my residency shall be unknown. I'm a photographer but you think you're better. I sneak into places with my camera. I make stencils but not for you ... maybe. I shoot what my eyes see. I make friends with aliens. If you are in front of me, you are going to be shot. If you are torn down or abandoned, I will find you. I will try not to break your heart.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

